Tertiary Education Entry Barriers in South Africa

In South Africa it’s hard to go to a tertiary institution of your choice, especially if you’re from an unknown school or perhaps a farm school. There is always an excuse of some sort to keep you from entering tertiary if you are from an unknown school, simply because they don’t believe that small schools do educate.

People struggle to get into Wits University, because they look for ‘good marks’. But what happens if you have the good marks? I’ll tell you what happened to my friend. He had great marks but apparently he made a mistake in his application letter, and they didn’t take him just for that. So I don’t think our tertiary education system is fair or is run accordingly. Furthermore, they still take poor children’s money for application fees instead of refunding them if they aren’t accepted.

Can you just imagine how much many of these tertiary institutions make from applications every year? I wouldn’t think anything less than a million rand. Plus, you are still required to pay their tuition, which is more than R60 000. Depending on your choice of career it could be more.

I’ve heard enough of people saying that that we need Diplomas, Degrees and PhDs while there are people behind the scenes making it hard for young, driven people to obtain such qualifications. That’s also another reason why SA has a high unemployment rate and a high crime rate; there is a smartie out there saying young people should be successful and should study hard while they shut the door to the same youth.

Young people aren’t blind. They see that most of those who went before them couldn’t make it. And they do start to doubt themselves because the same government, teachers, lecturers, and everyone is asking them this question, “How many people are sitting at home unemployed with qualifications?” The answer is that in 2012 a survey was conducted and almost 600 000 graduates are jobless, which is why there is a lack of motivation and drive from school children.

Now tell me, how do you motivate someone you just shattered by asking them that question? I mean, it’s very hard to keep the same kid on that school until matric. To some it’s just a barrier that contradicts getting students focused on staying in schools. Instead it causes disinterest to those who are really success driven.

I think if I didn’t have the right people in my life and hunger to get out of poverty, I wouldn’t be writing this right now. But for some reason I was different because of my mentor and my choice not to go to University. I’m doing my final year in one of the best Media Colleges in the country, because I chose to be someone, not just a number. For example, at my college I can speak to the lecturer and still get them during consultation hours, while with University you can spend a year without speaking to your professor.

I guess whoever reads this will either work on helping young people obtain success, like my mentor does, or they will have an understanding of how young people aren’t being shown or guided in the correct manner to the right path of education.

4 thoughts on “Tertiary Education Entry Barriers in South Africa

    • Hey Ellison. Just wanna thank you for taking time to read my blog and sharing it. It really means a lot to me, and actually also making it accessible for others to read. I’d also like you to keep reading and sharing my blogs because I need people like you to help give people more information.

  1. Pingback: Tertiary Education Entry Barriers in South Africa | SouthWeb

What do you think? Start the discussion!

